In Nursery, as in Reception, our planning and assessment are based on the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.

Within the EYFS Framework, children learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through seven areas of learning and development.  Children should mostly develop the three prime areas first.  These are:

  • Communication and language Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s development and future learning and in Nursery, they are our priority.  

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas.  These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Art and Design

These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. 

The curriculum is designed to be flexible so we can follow your child’s unique needs and interests.  Learning is based around themes and children learn by playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking, both indoors and outside.  Much of the learning that takes place is child-initiated with the adult’s role being to encourage, support and develop skills during child’s play.  This is complemented by adult-directed tasks in which we can pinpoint specific skills or knowledge, along with short, group sessions such as phonics, theme related discussions and activities, story and singing times, and opportunities for children to share their 'news' and interests with their friends.